Aviatrix recommends upgrading one cloud account at a time from the Cloud
Accounts list. The upgrade re-onboards the cloud account with a read-write role
and preserves the account’s existing configuration.
Cloud account permission levels are not the same as user permissions.The cloud account permission level controls what Aviatrix can do in your cloud
environment. User permissions control which console pages and actions a user can
access.
Prerequisites
- An AWS or Azure cloud account that is already onboarded with read-only (limited) permissions. Upgrading permissions is supported for AWS and Azure accounts.
-
Permission in the cloud account to create IAM roles and grant Aviatrix the
required permissions using templates or scripts. Use the same onboarding
method that you used to onboard the account:
- For AWS, the Aviatrix CloudFormation template.
- For Azure, the Aviatrix onboarding script (a command that you run in your cloud provider’s shell, such as Azure Cloud Shell, which creates the roles and permissions Aviatrix needs).
- For an AWS organization, plan to upgrade every account that you onboarded in that organization.
Upgrade a Cloud Account to Read-Write Permissions
To upgrade an onboarded account from read-only to read-write permissions, do the following:- In the Aviatrix PaaS console, go to Cloud Resources > Cloud Accounts. A list of onboarded cloud accounts appears.
- In the accounts list, find the account to upgrade. The Permission Level column identifies the accounts that currently have read-only permissions.
- In that account’s row, click Upgrade. The upgrade dialog appears.
- Launch the read-write onboarding template or script for your cloud provider and run it in the cloud account to grant Aviatrix read-write permissions. Refer to Onboard Your AWS Cloud Account and Onboard Your Azure Cloud Account for more information.
- Return to the Aviatrix PaaS console. The account status changes while Aviatrix re-onboards the account with the new permissions.
- Wait for the account status to return to ready. When the upgrade completes, the account’s permission level shows read-write (full).
- For an AWS organization, repeat these steps for each account that you onboarded in the organization.
You cannot downgrade an account from read-write back to read-only. To remove
Aviatrix access from an account, offboard it. See Offboard a Cloud
Account.